High Scope Curriculum

Building Blocks Learning Center uses the High Scope Curriculum. Our students learn to become independent, confident learners that last a lifetime. We offer our students the opportunity to work independently or in groups. They pursue their own interest, make choices and become problem solvers among their peers. Our learning environments are created to encourage learning and development. Our children learn through teacher and child initiated activities.

Child Care Center in Vineland, NJ

Involvement of our families in our classrooms is very important to us. Our families are an extension of the classroom and their child's learning experience; we encourage our families to participate in all of our activities. Living in a diverse environment provides us with the opportunity to promote cultural diversity. By involving our children's different cultures into the classroom we teach the children the importance of diversity amongst everyone.

The High Scope Curriculum has 8 main curriculum content areas which provide the following for our students. There are 58 key developmental indicators to help our teachers provide the best learning environment and activities for our students.

Our teachers plan lessons to encourage learning in the following areas:

  • Social and emotional development
  • Physical development and health
  • Language, literacy, and communication
  • Mathematics
  • Creative arts
  • Science and technology
  • Social studies

If you would like more information on High Scope, please visit their website at www.HighScope.org